Federal Courts | Northern District of Ohio

United States District Court, Northern District of Ohio
Currently, the United States District Court for the Northern District of Ohio holds court in Cleveland, Akron, Toledo, and Youngstown.

United States Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of Ohio
Website provides court & case information, judges & attorney information as well as self-help filing.


State Court

The Supreme Court of Ohio
The Supreme Court of Ohio is established by Article IV, Section 1, of the Ohio Constitution. Article IV, Section 2, of the Constitution sets the size of the Court at seven - a chief justice and six justices - and outlines the jurisdiction of the Court.​



Ninth District Court of Appeals
Primary function is to hear appeals from the common pleas, municipal and county courts. Each case is heard and decided by a panel of three judges. Serves Lorain, Medina, Summit & Wayne counties.


Common Pleas

Summit County Common Pleas Court - General Division
Handles both criminal and civil cases in Summit County, Ohio.

Summit County Domestic Relations Court
The Domestic Relations Court has exclusive jurisdiction of bringing marriages to an end. This may be by divorce, dissolution or annulment. The control of the Court continues until all the children born to the parties have reached age eighteen and no longer regularly attend high school. In addition, the Court has the power to enforce all its orders, even years after the end of the marriage. The Court also shares, with the Municipal Court and the Common Pleas Court, jurisdiction over domestic violence cases.

Summit County Juvenile Court
Responsible for Juvenile Traffic, Dependency/Neglect/Abuse, Legal Custody, and Delinquency & Status cases in Summit County.

Summit County Probate Court
Duties of the court include administration of estates, guardianships, mental illness and mental retardation, adoptions, birth certificates, changes of name, marriage licenses, civil actions and testamentary and inter vivos trusts.


Municipal Courts

Akron Municipal Court
Serves Akron, Fairlawn, Bath, Richfield, Springfield, Lakemore and parts of Mogadore, Ohio in cases regarding misdemeanors, traffic violations, felonies and small claims.

Barberton Municipal Court
Serves the communities of Barberton, Norton, Green, Copley, New Franklin, Coventry & Clinton.

Stow Municipal Court
Has jurisdiction over misdemeanor & traffic offenses committed within its geographical boundaries and civil cases in which the amount in controversy does not exceed $15,000. Serves those living in the communities of Boston Heights, Boston Township, Cuyahoga Falls, Hudson, Macedonia, Munroe Falls, Northfield, Northfield Center Township, Peninsula, Reminderville, Sagamore Hills, Silver Lake, Stow, Tallmadge, Twinsburg and Twinsburg Township.


Clerk of Courts

Summit County Clerk of Courts

Akron Municipal Clerk of Courts​

Barberton Municipal Clerk of Court​

Stow Municipal Court​ Clerk of Courts