Professionalism Award Dinner Committee


  • Susan Durr

    Committee Chair

    (330) 929-4002


  • Joe Kodish

    Committee Vice Chair

    (330) 434-3461

Professionalism Award

The Professionalism Award was established by the Board of Trustees of the Akron Bar Association in February of 1996. The award was created to recognize an attorney’s exceptional dedication to the standards of the profession, and to recognize one who has demonstrated integrity and humanitarian concern within the community. Nominations are usually accepted through June, and the award is presented in the fall at a dinner to honor the recipient. The nominations are reviewed by the Professionalism Committee of the Bar Association, whose members are actively engaged in the practice of law. A recommendation is made to the Board of Trustees. The Trustees then select the recipient of the award. Nominees must be members of the Akron Bar Association. The nomination form should be completed and attached to an accompanying letter giving, in as much detail as possible, the reasons for the nomination. The nomination form can be found here.

Professionalism among members of the Bar has been of concern to us all. All lawyers should have the high standards of our profession reinforced to insure that they are a regular part of our practice. We hope to recognize those of us who have demonstrated outstanding professionalism at our annual dinner.

Professionalism Award Recipients

2017: Carmen V. Roberto
2016:  Larry G. Poulos
2015: Kathryn A. Belfance
2014: Peter T. Cahoon
2013: Gerald R. Leipply
2012: Richard T. Cunningham
2011: Howard J. Walton
2010: Thomas R. Pitts
2009: Orville Reed, III
2008: Gerald J. Glinsek
2007: Jerry F. Whitmer
2006: Amie L. Bruggeman
2005: Dennis J. Bartek
2004: Timothy F. Scanlon
2003: George B. Vasko
2002: Robert H. McDowall
2001: Frederick S. Corns
2000: Joseph S. Kodish
1999: Jerome L. Holub
1998: Bradford M. Gearinger
1997: S. Samuel Nukes
1996: John A. Schwemler


Professionalism Award Nomination Form
Akron Bar Association Calendar
Supreme Court of Ohio Commission on Professionalism
Ohio Rules of Professional Conduct
More Professionalism Resources


Ikel Kelly
Akron Bar Association
(330) 253-5007

View all Committees & Sections