Professionalism Award

The Professionalism Award was established by the Board of Trustees of the Akron Bar Association in 1996. The award was created to recognize an attorney's exceptional dedication to the standards of the profession and to recognize one who has demonstrated integrity and humanitarian concern within the community.

In 2018, the name of the award was changed to the "Bradford M. "Buck" Gearinger Professionalism Award" in memory of Attorney Gearinger, Akron Bar past president and past award recipient.

Nomination Process:

Nominations are usually accepted through June, and the award is presented in the fall at a dinner to honor the recipient. The nominations are reviewed by the Professionalism Committee of the Bar Association, whose members are actively engaged in the practice of law. A recommendation is made to the Board of Trustees. The Trustees then select the recipient of the award. Nominees must be members of the Akron Bar Association. The nomination form should be completed and attached to an accompanying letter giving, in as much detail as possible, the reasons for the nomination.

Past Recipients:

  • John A. Schwemler 1996
  • S. Samuel Nukes 1997
  • Bradford M. Gearinger 1998
  • Jerome L. Holub 1999
  • Joseph S. Kodish 2000
  • Frederick S. Corns 2001
  • Robert H. McDowall 2002
  • George B. Vasko 2003
  • Timothy F. Scanlon 2004
  • Dennis J. Bartek 2005
  • Amie L. Bruggeman 2006
  • Jerry F. Whitmer 2007
  • Gerald J. Glinsek 2008
  • Orville Reed, III 2009
  • Thomas R. Pitts 2010
  • Howard J. Walton 2011
  • Richard T. Cunningham 2012
  • Gerald R. Leipply 2013
  • Peter T. Cahoon 2014
  • Kathryn A. Belfance 2015
  • Larry Poulos 2016
  • Carmen V. Roberto 2017