Northeast Ohio Courts

Summit County Clerk of Courts

Court records search (Common Pleas & multi-jurisdictional) and naturalization records can be found at the Clerk of Courts website.

Summit County Common Pleas Court

Handles both criminal and civil cases in Summit County, Ohio.

Summit County Domestic Relations Court

The Domestic Relations Court has exclusive jurisdiction of bringing marriages to an end. This may be by divorce, dissolution or annulment. The control of the Court continues until all the children born to the parties have reached age eighteen and no longer regularly attend high school. In addition, the Court has the power to enforce all its orders, even years after the end of the marriage. The Court also shares, with the Municipal Court and the Common Pleas Court, jurisdiction over domestic violence cases.

Summit County Juvenile Court

Responsible for Juvenile Traffic, Dependency/Neglect/Abuse, Legal Custody, and Delinquency & Status cases in Summit County.

Summit County Probate Court

Duties of the court include administration of estates, guardianships, mental illness and mental retardation, adoptions, birth certificates, changes of name, marriage licenses, civil actions and testamentary and inter vivos trusts.

Akron Municipal Court

Serves Akron, Fairlawn, Bath, Richfield, Springfield, Lakemore and parts of Mogadore, Ohio in cases regarding misdemeanors, traffic violations, felonies and small claims.

Barberton Municipal Court

Serves the communities of Barberton, Norton, Green, Copley, New Franklin, Coventry & Clinton.

Canton Municipal Court

Serving the legal community and residents of the Canton area.

Medina Municipal Court

Serves Brunswick, Medina, Brunswick Hills, Chatham, Granger, Hinckley, Lafayette, Litchfield, Liverpool, Montville, Spencer, York and Chippewa Lake.

Portage County Municipal Court

Municipal Divisions located in Ravenna and Kent.

Stow Municipal Court

Has jurisdiction over misdemeanor & traffic offenses committed within its geographical boundaries and civil cases in which the amount in controversy does not exceed $15,000. Serves those living in the communities of Boston Heights, Boston Township, Cuyahoga Falls, Hudson, Macedonia, Munroe Falls, Northfield, Northfield Center Township, Peninsula, Reminderville, Sagamore Hills, Silver Lake, Stow, Tallmadge, Twinsburg and Twinsburg Township.

United States Bankruptcy Court – Northern District of Ohio

Website provides court & case information, judges & attorney information as well as self-help filing.

Ninth District Court of Appeals

Primary function is to hear appeals from the common pleas, municipal and county courts. Each case is heard and decided by a panel of three judges. Serves Lorain, Medina, Summit & Wayne Counties.

Fifth District Court of Appeals

Serves Ashland, Coshocton, Delaware, Fairfield, Guernsey, Holmes, Licking, Morgan, Morro, Muskingum, Perry, Richland, Stark and Tuscarawas Counties.

United States District Court, Northern District of Ohio

Currently, the United States District Court for the Northern District of Ohio holds court in Cleveland, Akron, Toledo, and Youngstown and serves the 5.9 million citizens of the 40 most northern counties in Ohio.