Diversity Committee

The Diversity Committee shall encourage and promote diversity among under-represented and under-served groups in our legal and broader community.  The primary focus is diversity of the Akron Bar Association and the Summit County legal community.

Committee Leadership


Robert M. Gippin



Diversity Award

The Diversity Award celebrates business or organization that demonstrates a commitment to a diversity and inclusion in Summit County.


  • Demonstrate a consistent pattern of the organization’s commitment to the recruitment, retention and promotion of individuals of underrepresented populations;
  • Cultivate and promote diversity initiatives that establish and foster a more inclusive and equitable work environment;
  • Promote and facilitate equitable education and social engagement with and between people of varying ethnic or religious backgrounds, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation, and/or physical and mental capabilities;
  • Exhibit visionary and insightful leadership to confront and resolve inequities through strategic decision-making, allocation of resources, and establishment of priorities;
  • Outline defined goals, actions steps and accomplishments toward achieving a work environment that recognizes, promotes and encourages a diverse workforce at all levels throughout an organization;
  • Create new and progressive best practices that support diversity and inclusion goals.

Nomination Deadline

  • Annually prior to the 1st day of April

Nomination Form

Past Recipients

  • 2019 | pending...
  • 2018 | Keith P. McNeil, Ohio Civil Rights Commission (retired)
  • 2017 | Professor Martin H. Belsky, The University of Akron School of Law
  • 2016 | Not awarded
  • 2015 | Akron/Canton Barristers
  • 2014 | Professor Joann M. Sahl, The University of Akron School of Law
  • 2013 | Lee Gill, Office of Inclusion & Equity, The University of Akron
  • 2012 | Anthony O'Leary, Akron Metropolitan Housing Authority

Akron Bar Staff Liaison

Member Services & Marketing Director | 330.436.0105