Professionalism Award

On February 1996, the Akron Bar Association’s Board of trustees created the Professionalism Award.  This award recognizes an attorney who is exceptional dedication to the standards of the profession, and to recognize one who has demonstrated integrity and humanitarian concern within the community.  The Akron Bar celebrates the honoree at our annual Professionalism Dinner held in October/November.

Nomination Process:

Nominations are usually accepted through June, and the award is presented in the fall at a dinner to honor the recipient. The nominations are reviewed by the Professionalism Committee of the Bar Association, whose members are actively engaged in the practice of law. A recommendation is made to the Board of Trustees. The Trustees then select the recipient of the award. Nominees must be members of the Akron Bar Association. The nomination form should be completed and attached to an accompanying letter giving, in as much detail as possible, the reasons for the nomination.

Past Recipients:

  • John A. Schwemler 1996
  • S. Samuel Nukes 1997
  • Bradford M. Gearinger 1998
  • Jerome L. Holub 1999
  • Joseph S. Kodish 2000
  • Frederick S. Corns 2001
  • Robert H. McDowall 2002
  • George B. Vasko 2003
  • Timothy F. Scanlon 2004
  • Dennis J. Bartek 2005
  • Amie L. Bruggeman 2006
  • Amie L. Bruggeman 2007
  • Jerry F. Whitmer 2008
  • Gerald J. Glinsek 2009
  • Orville Reed, III 2010
  • Thomas R. Pitts 2011
  • Howard J. Walton 2012
  • Richard T. Cunningham 2013
  • Gerald R. Leipply 2014
  • Peter T. Cahoon 2015
  • Kathryn A. Belfance 2016
  • Larry Poulos 2017

Award Recipient Summaries:

For more information, please click Recipient Summaries < hyperlink >