2016 Board Nominees  
April, 2016

The Nominating Committee has submitted the following slate of candidates for consideration. Voting will take place during the Annual Meeting on June 21, 2016.

Matejkovic, Meg
Meg Andreeff
President (2016-2017)
Immediate Past President (2017-2018)

Meg is a Foundation Fellow and current President-Elect. She is currently chair of the Membership Committee and a member of the Labor & Employment Law Section. Meg’s previous experience includes serving on the Finance, Grievance, Law School Liaison, New Lawyers, Professionalism, Scholarship, and Senior Lawyers committees. Meg is a member of the Ohio State Bar Association and the American Bar Association. In the community, she has served on the American Heart Association Board and is part of the Leadership Akron Alumni Association.

J. Lewis
President-Elect 2016-2017
President 2017-2018
Immediate Past President 2018-2019
Dave is a director and shareholder of Krugliak, Wilkins, Griffiths & Dougherty Co., L.P.A. and practices out of the firm’s Northeast Ohio offices. His areas of concentration include: corporate, individual, partnership, and excise tax law. As a member of the Akron Bar Association, Dave has served as Treasurer and a member Board of Governors, Past Chair of both the Tax Section and the Business Corporate Law Committee. He is a Certified Public Accountant, Past President & current member of the Akron Tax Club, member of the Tax Section of the American Bar Association, and a member of the Ohio State Bar Association.

Alisa N. Benedict O’Brien

Vice President Membership/Secretary 2016-2018
Alisa currently serves as the Director of Career Planning and Placement at the University of Akron School of Law, where she has been employed since August 2011. Prior to joining Akron Law, Alisa practiced in the areas of estate planning, probate administration, and corporate law at a boutique firm in Cleveland where she also clerked during law school. She utilizes her experience to counsel students and alumni on a wide variety of topics, including: career paths, interviewing skills, the impact of legal writing on resumes and cover letters, judicial clerkships, private sector and public interest careers, networking and overall professionalism. Alisa also organizes and presents numerous workshops throughout the academic year concerning these topics. Alisa is a graduate of Cleveland-Marshall College of Law and Loyola University Maryland. She has been actively engaged with the Akron Bar since 2011 as a member of the Law School Liaison Committee, the Diversity Committee, and the Membership Committee.

Members of the Board of Trustees For terms from 2016-2019

Martin Belsky
Martin H. Belsky

Martin H. Belsky is the Randolph Baxter Professor of Law and former Dean of the University of Akron School of Law. A graduate of Temple University and Columbia Law School, Professor Belsky has served as Chief Prosecutor in Philadelphia, Senior Associate at a Philadelphia Law Firm, counsel and chief counsel to two Congressional Committees, counsel and Assistant Administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Director of a public policy center at the University of Florida, and Dean of both Albany and Tulsa Law Schools. He has been teaching law courses for over 40 years. Professor Belsky has served as a Director of several NYSE corporations and local and national non-profits. He has also served as President and Chair of religious, interfaith, and diversity boards. Professor Belsky is admitted to practice in Pennsylvania, New York, Oklahoma and of course Ohio. He served as a Board member of numerous bar associations and law-related organizations. In Akron, he served two terms as a member of the Akron Bar Foundation Board and four years as chair of the Akron Bar’s Diversity Committee.

Hamilton DeSaussure
Hamilton DeSaussure

Hal is a member of Day Ketterer Co LPA in the Hudson office practicing in the areas of commercial litigation and insurance defense. He has been a member of the Akron Bar Association since 1983 and has served on the Common Pleas and Appellate Court Committee, the Bench Bar Conference Committee, the Jammin’ for Justice Committee and am a member of the Labor and Employment Section, among others. He also served a three-year term as Chair of the Akron Bar Association’s Commission on Judicial Candidates. Hal is a member of the Board of Governors of the Akron Bar Foundation and served for almost 20 years as Director of the Akron Law Library Board and was involved in the merger of the Law Library Board into the Law Library Committee of the Akron Bar Foundation. He is President of Hudson City Council and has served on City Council since 2009.

Kani Hightower
Kani H. Hightower

Kani is a litigation attorney and business director at Lynda Harvey Williams & Associates, LLC, located in downtown Akron. She obtained her Juris Doctorate from the University of Akron School of Law in 2008. Her practice includes litigation and appeals in the areas of criminal, civil, juvenile, and probate law. She received a Bachelor of Arts from Kent State University with concentrations in English and Paralegal Studies in 2003. She has been licensed to practice law in the State of Ohio since 2008 and is admitted to practice law in the United States Federal Court, Northern District of Ohio. She has also received certificates in general and divorce mediation from the University of Akron Center for Family Studies. She is a member of the Akron Bar Association and a member of the Summit County Juvenile Court Family Reunification Through Recovery Court advisory, legal, and executive committees. She is also an active member on various Akron Bar Association committees and sub-committees. Other associations include Scanlon Inn of Court and Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Incorporated. She has previously served as Bar Coordinator for The University of Akron School of Law. She has been an adjunct professor for the School of Law since 2009. During that time, she has served as a special lecturer and taught Advanced Legal Applications, Criminal Law Lab, and was co-professor of the Externship Program. She is currently teaches Law Firm Management.

All News>>


Leave a Reply