Seminar Materials

The Essentials of Special Education Law in Ohio: A Primer for Representing Clients at An IDEA Due Process Hearing
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 

  • – Attorney Ronald E. Alexander
  • Table of Contents Tabs 1- 23
    1. 20 U.S.C. 1407 – State Administration – Rule-Making
    2. 20 U.S.C. 1414 – Evaluation, Eligibility Determinations, Individualized Education Programs, and Educational Placements
    3. 20 U.S.C. 1415 – Procedural Safeguards
    4. Index – 34 C.F.R. Part 300- Assistance to States for the Education of Children with Disabilities
    5. Ohio Revised Code – Select Sections of Chapter: 3323.01 Education of Children with Disabilities Definitions/3323-011 Individualized Education Program/3323.02 Appropriate Public Education Program/3323.03 Standards and Procedures for Identification, Location, and Evaluation of Children with Disabilities/3323.04 Procedures and Standards for Placement in Educational Programs/3323.05 Procedures to Assure Guaranteed Procedural Safeguards in Decisions
    6. O.A.C. 3301-51-01 Applicability of Requirements and Definitions
    7. O.A.C. 3301-51-02 Free Appropriate Public Education
    8. O.A.C. Child Find
    9. O.A.C. Procedural Safeguards
    10. OA.C. 3301-51-06 Evaluations
    11. OA.C. 3301-51-07 Individualized Education Program (IEP)
    12. Evaluation Team Report (ETR) form
    13.  IEP Individualized Education Program form
    14. PR-Os
    15. Index of ODE Required and Optional Forms
    16. ODE Brochure – IDEA SPECIAL EDUCATION DUE PROCESS COMPLAINTS/HEARING REQUESTS
    17. ODE – DUE PROCESS COMPLAINT FORM (CURRENT VERSION)
    18.  ODE – Request for a Due Process Hearing (draft revision)
    19.  ODE Brochure – IDEA SPECIAL EDUCATION RESOLUTION MEETINGS
    20.  ODE Brochure – Expedited Due Process – Information Sheet
    21.  Zelman – Agreed Order of Settlement
    22.  IHO – Form Order – Due Date for Completion of IHO’s Schedule of Available Dates
    23.  IHO – Form Order – Hearing ScheduleEstate Planning, Probate & Elder Law Section

Estate Planning, Probate & Elder Law Section 
Wednesday, September 20, 2017 

  • Conflicts of Interest in Trust Administration & Estate Planning: A Practical Guide – Attorney Lisa Babish Forbes

Essentials of Evictions and Collections: A Starter Guide to Municipal Court Practice
Wednesday, September 20, 2017 


Small & Solo EXPO to Successful Retirement
Friday, September 15, 2017 


Your Roadmap to Successful Retirement
Friday, September 8, 2017 


Family Law Section
Tuesday, September 5, 2017


Advanced Issues in Probate Law
Friday, June 30, 2017


Friday, June 16, 2017


Building A Profitable Client Base (New Lawyer Training Core Program/Professional Development CLE)
Thursday, June 8, 2017


Family Law Section
Tuesday, June 6, 2017

  • Shared Parenting By The Numbers Outline & Powerpoint – Magistrate Kelly McLaughlin & Attorney Melissa Graham-Hurd

Business & Corporate Law Section
Monday, June 5, 2017

  • How & Why Middle Market Businesses Choose Their Legal Counsel – Attorney Robert Cohen, Centrus Group, Inc.

Criminal Law Section
Thursday, June 1, 2017


Estate Planning, Probate & Elder Law Section
Friday, May 19, 2017


23rd Annual Las Vegas Seminar: Workers’ Compensation: It’s Been A Long, Strange Trip
Friday, May 19, 2017

Saturday, May 20, 2017


Criminal Law Section
Thursday, May 4, 2017


Labor & Employment Law Section
Thursday, May 4, 2017


Family Law Section
Tuesday, May 2, 2017


Estate Planning, Probate & Elder Law Section
Friday, April 21, 2017

 

Annual White-Williams Bankruptcy Institute
Friday, April 21,, 2017



Juvenile Court Committee
Thursday, April 13, 2017

  • Emancipation/Transition of Planning for Foster Youth – Jeanne Cargill, Summit County Children’s Services

Real Property Law Section
Wednesday, April 5, 2017


Family Law Section
Tuesday, April 4, 2017


Advanced Issues in Criminal Appellate Law Practice
Friday, March 31, 2017


Labor & Employment Law Section
Tuesday, March 28, 2017


Estate Planning, Probate & Elder Law Section
Friday, March 17, 2017


Attorney Wellness: Staying Energized in the Practice of Law
Friday, March 10, 2017


Juvenile Court Committee
Friday, March 9, 2017


E-Filing Training
Friday, March 3, 2017


Basic Criminal Appellate Law Practice & Procedure
Thursday, March 2, 2017

Criminal Law Section
Thursday, March 2, 2017


Summit County Juvenile Court
Friday, February 24, 2017


Estate Planning, Probate, & Elder law Section
Friday, February 17, 2017


Business & Corporate Law Section
Wednesday, February 15, 2017


Paralegal Section
Tuesday, February 14, 2017


Family Law Section
Tuesday, February 7, 2017


Labor & Employment Law Section
Thursday, January 19, 2017


Annual J. Dean Carro Criminal Law Seminar: Video Replay
Wednesday, January 11, 2017 and Wednesday, December 14, 2016


Criminal Law Section
Thursday, January 5, 2017


Comedic CLE: 2016 Edition
Friday, December 9, 2016


New Lawyer Training Seminar
Tuesday, December 5, 2016

Wednesday, December 6, 2016


Professional Conduct Seminar: Stress & Professionalism Issues Affecting Today’s Attorney
Monday, November 28, 2016


Estate Planning, Probate, & Elder Law Section
Friday, November 18, 2016


Bernard I. Rosen Domestic Relations Institute
Thursday, November 17, 2016


Annual J. Dean Carro Criminal Law Seminar: Video Replay
Friday, November 11, 2016


Labor & Employment Law Section
Thursday, November 10, 2016


Criminal Law Section
Thursday, November 3, 2016


Real Property & Environmental Law Section
Wednesday, November 2, 2016


Estate Planning, Probate, & Elder Law Section
Friday, October 21, 2016


Annual J. Dean Carro Criminal Law Seminar
Saturday, October 15, 2016


Nuts-n-Bolts of Criminal Law Practice – Video Replay
Monday, October 10, 2016

  • Seminar Materials
    • Direct Indictment & Pretrial Services – Thomas McLaughlin
    • Competency & NGRI Issues – Dr. Douglas A. Smith & Chris Freeman
    • Pretrial Pointers – James L. Burdon, Esq.
    • Plea Bargaining – Colleen M. Sims, Esq.
    • Preserving the Record & Objections – J. Dean Carro, Esq.
    • Alternative Sentencing & the Oriana House – Bernie Rochford, Esq.
    • Sentencing & judicial Release – Hon. Mary Margaret Rowlands

Summit County Clerk of Courts E-Filing Training for Criminal Division Cases
Thursday, October 6, 2016

  • Attorney E-Filing Manual – Summit County Clerk of Courts

Real Property & Environmental Law Section
Wednesday, October 5, 2016


Family Law Section
Tuesday, October 4, 2016


Corporate Counsel Section
Friday, September 30, 2016


Annual Professional Conduct Seminar
Friday, September 30, 2016


Basics of Immigration Law: A Practitioner’s Perspective
Friday, September 23, 2016


Labor & Employment Law Section
Thursday, September 22, 2016


Estate Planning, Probate, & Elder Law Section
Friday, September 17, 2016


Real Property & Environmental Law Section
Wednesday, September 7, 2016


Family Law Section
Tuesday, September 6, 2016


Stress & Addiction: Partners in Neurobiological Crime
Friday, August 26, 2016


Summer Institute:  Building & Improving Your Law Practice Through the ABA’s Lawyer Referral Service & Modest Means Opportunities
Tuesday, August 16, 2016


Estate Planning, Probate, Elder Law Section: Advance Topics in Probate Law Seminar
Friday, June 24, 2016


Annual Summit County Juvenile Court Update Seminar
Friday, June 24, 2016


Jury Selection in the Social Media Era
Friday, June 17, 2016


Workers’ Compensation: Are We There Yet?

Friday, May 13, 2106

Saturday, May 14, 2016


Juvenile Court Committee – Testimony of Mental Health Providers
Thursday, May 12, 2016


Real Property Section: Three-hour Seminar
Wednesday, May 11, 2016


Social Security Disability:  Getting the Basics Down
Tuesday, April 26, 2016


White-Williams Bankruptcy Institute  
Friday, April 8, 2016


Families and Communities Interdisciplinary Seminar: Face & Families – The Cradle-to-Prison Pipeline  
Thursday, April 7, 2016

Bios      Brochure          Agenda

Dismantling the Pipeline:

After Lunch Sessions:

  • Juvenile Justice: A DOJ Perspective
  • Restorative Justice
  • National Perspective and Local Solutions

Family Law Section  
Tuesday, April 5, 2016


NLT Practice Lab #5: Practice Skills


Bench Bar Conference
2016


NLT Practice Lab #4: Practical Skills
Thursday, March 10, 2016


Summit County Juvenile Court Update
Friday, February 26, 2016


Remaining Vital & Purposeful in the Challenging Field of Law
Thursday, February 25, 2016


Family Law Section & Estate Planning, Probate, & Elder Law Section: Antenuptial Agreements
Friday, February 19, 2016


NLT Practical Lab: Series 3
Wednesday, February 17, 2016


NLT Practical Lab: Series 2
Thursday, February 11, 2016

  • Cultivating the Art of Effective Client Relationships

Practical Application of the Rules of Evidence
Thursday, February 4, 2016


E-filing Update
Friday, January 29, 2016


NLT Practice Lab: Series 1
Thursday, January 28, 2016


Labor & Employment Law Section: Basics of Labor & Employment Law
Thursday, January 14, 2016


Family Law Section: Problems of Dividing State and Government Pensions
Tuesday, January 5, 2016